2001 World Pool League News Flashback

November 24th, 2001 by webmaster Leave a reply »

2001-11-15 15:34:18

Making its fourth consecutive appearance in Warsaw, Poland, the World Pool League gets underway tomorrow ( Friday) night and features eight of the world’s best 9-ballers competing in a unique league format for a US$50,000 prize-fund.
Played over three days, the eight players are divided into two groups of four and within each group they play each other once making a total of six matches per group. Each match is over ten racks and it’s two points for a win and one point.

At the end of the league section the winner of Group 1 plays the runner-up of Group 2 in the first semi-final and the winner of Group 2 plays the runner-up in Group 1 in the second. The semi-finals are a race to seven and the championship match is a race to nine.

As usual Matchroom Sport have gathered together some of the world’s finest players including 1999 World Champion Efren Reyes, who earlier this week won the Tokyo 9-Ball tournament in Japan and with it pool’s biggest ever first prize of US$165,000.

Also competing are the likes of Earl Strickland, Steve Davis, Francisco Bustamante and defending champion, England’s Steve Knight.

Related Billiard Posts:

  • No Billiard Posts Related to This one. Please Comment Below.

Leave a Reply